Trust and law firms scooped the first ever STEP Caribbean awards held at the Marriott Resort, St Kitts on 5 May. Meritus Trust was lauded as Caribbean Trust Company of the Year, while law firm Mourant Ozannes received the accolade of Caribbean Legal Team of the Year.

Tim Prudhoe TEP, chair of the judging panel, said: “These awards demonstrate the vitality of the Caribbean as a centre of excellence in wealth structuring. I congratulate the winners and they should be doubly proud as the standard of competition was very high.”

Lisa Wilcox TEP of Scotiatrust in the Bahamas was named Caribbean Student of the Year. She had registered the highest overall grade of her peer group for the STEP Diploma in International Trust Management in an award kindly sponsored by CLT International.

Andrew Miller TEP of Walkers was presented with a George Tasker Founders Award for Outstanding Contribution to STEP. Sadly, Mr Tasker passed away earlier this year.

The award winners were announced at the STEP Caribbean Conference gala dinner on Sunday 5 May, part of the STEP Caribbean Conference being held in St. Kitts, May 6-8, 2013 at the Marriott Resort.

You can follow the STEP Caribbean conference and future regional awards on Twitter @STEPcaribbean using hashtag #STEPCC for more updates. The 2013 judges were Tim Prudhoe (Chair), Paul Bailey, Suzanne Marriott, Kenneth Morgan and Dianne Bingham with Keith Johnston acting as Awards Secretary. Trust and legal teams must have been based on an island in the Caribbean, or Bermuda or Belize to qualify.